15 Books About Creativity That All Businesses Can Learn From

0

It’s difficult to find a business that does not want to keep up with the latest trends in its industry and stay ahead of its competitors. A crucial part of staying ahead is creativity. Or rather, creative thinking. That is, dreaming up new and unique ways of doing things.

The past couple of decades companies have come to realize this. A recent study found that 82 percent of companies believe there is a strong connection between creativity and business results. The same study concludes that companies that actively foster creative thinking outperform their rivals in revenue growth, market share and competitive leadership.

So, how to go about it? Before you move into the business realms of innovation theory and similar, you must get creativity nailed down. What is creativity? How do you become creative? How do you apply it?

To help you with all of the above we compiled a must-read list of books on creativity. Happy reading!

_____

Big Magic: Creative Living Beyond Fear

By Elizabeth Gilbert

Big Magic- Creative Living beyond Fear

In Big Magic, Elizabeth Gilbert discusses the attitudes, approaches, and habits we need in order to live our most creative lives. Gilbert encourages us to uncover the “strange jewels” that are hidden within each of us.

_____

Steal Like An Artist

By Austin Kleon

Steal like an Artist

In Steal Like An Artist, Austin Kleon shows his readers how to unlock their creativity by “stealing” from the community of other movers and shakers.

_____

Show Your Work!

By Austin Kleon

Show your Work

In Show Your Work! Austin Kleon has written a follow-up to Steal Like An Artist which is even more forward-thinking and necessary. He shows how to take that critical next step on a creative journey – getting known.

_____

The Ecstasy of Influence: A plagiarism

By Jonathan Lethem

The Ecstasy of Influence- A plagiarism

In his essay on plagiarism, Jonathan Lethem argues that sharing ideas and getting influences somewhat promote creativeness and generate next movement. 

_____

Creativity, Inc.: Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration

By Ed Catmull and Amy Wallace

Creativity, Inc.- Overcoming the Unseen Forces That Stand in the Way of True Inspiration

From Ed Catmull, co-founder (with Steve Jobs and John Lasseter) of Pixar Animation Studios, comes an incisive book about creativity in business—sure to appeal to readers of Daniel Pink, Tom Peters, and Chip and Dan Heath.

_____

Art & Fear: Observations on the Perils (and Rewards) of Artmaking

By David Bayles and Ted Orland

Art & Fear- Observations on the Perils (and Rewards) of Artmaking

Art & Fear explores the way art gets made, the reasons it often doesn’t get made, and the nature of the difficulties that cause so many artists to give up along the way.

______

The Creativity Challenge: Design, Experiment, Test, Innovate, Build, Create, Inspire, and Unleash Your Genius

By Tanner Christensen

The Creativity Challenge- Design, Experiment, Test, Innovate, Build, Create, Inspire, and Unleash Your Genius

What’s the best way to become more creative? Just change how you think! This book challenges you to go against your default ways of thinking in order to write, design, and build something extraordinary.

_____

Wired to Create: Unraveling the Mysteries of the Creative Mind

By Scott Barry Kaufman and Carolyn Gregoire

Wired to Create- Unraveling the Mysteries of the Creative Mind

Based on psychologist Scott Barry Kaufman’s groundbreaking research and Carolyn Gregoire’s popular article in the Huffington Post, Wired to Create offers a glimpse inside the “messy minds” of highly creative people.

_____

The Creative Habit: Learn it and Use it for Life

By Twyla Tharp

The Creative Habit- Learn it and Use it for Life

Creativity is not a gift from the gods, says Twyla Tharp. It is the product of preparation and effort, and it’s within reach of everyone who wants to achieve it. All it takes is the willingness to make creativity a habit, an integral part of your life

_____

Burn After Writing

By Sharon Jones

Burn After Writing By Sharon Jones

 

Burn After Writing is an interactive book that invites you to face life’s big questions – all on your favourite subject: Yourself. In a society where we ‘share’ everything, Burn After Writing goes against the grain and politely asks you to ‘share’ nothing.

_____

The Art of Creative Thinking: 89 Ways to See Things Differently

By Rod Judkins

The Art of Creative Thinking: 89 Ways to See Things Differently

In short and engaging entries, this deceptively simple volume presents examples of creative thinkers from the worlds of writing, music, architecture, painting, technology, and more, shedding light on their process, and showing how each of us can learn from them to improve our lives and our work.

_____

Catching the Big Fish: Meditation, Consciousness, and Creativity: 10th Anniversary Edition

By David Lynch

Catching the Big Fish- Meditation, Consciousness, and Creativity- 10th Anniversary Edition

In Catching the Big Fish, internationally acclaimed filmmaker David Lynch provides a rare window into his methods as an artist, his personal working style, and the immense creative benefits he has experienced from the practice of meditation.

_____

Creative Confidence: Unleashing the Creative Potential Within Us All

By David Kelley and Tom Kelley

Creative Confidence- Unleashing the Creative Potential Within Us All

IDEO brothers David and Tom Kelley have written a powerful and compelling book on unleashing the creativity that lies within each and every one of us.

_____

Flow: The Psychology of Optimal Experience

By Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi

Flow- The Psychology of Optimal Experience

Psychologist Mihaly Csikszentmihalyi’s famous investigations of “optimal experience” have revealed that what makes an experience genuinely satisfying is a state of consciousness called flow. During flow, people typically experience deep enjoyment, creativity, and a total involvement with life.

_____

Manage Your Day-to-Day: Build Your Routine, Find Your Focus, and Sharpen Your Creative Mind

By Jocelyn K. Glei (ed.)

Manage Your Day-to-Day- Build Your Routine, Find Your Focus, and Sharpen Your Creative Mind

Do you work at a breakneck pace all day, only to find that you haven’t accomplished the most important things on your agenda by the time you leave the office? With wisdom from 20 leading creative minds, 99U’s Manage Your Day-to-Day will equip you with pragmatic insights for using your time wisely and making your best work.

Share.

Leave A Reply